Review: Pieces of Me

Pieces of Me Book CoverPieces of Me by Shiloh Walker
My Rating: 2.5-Stars
Genre: Romantic Thriller
Release Date: July 25, 2017
Formats: Kindle Unlimited, Kindle (~$3), Paperback ($12.99)

Pieces of Me is the story of Shadow Harper, starting with her uneasy life in South Carolina several years following her divorce to her horribly abusive and 15-years-older ex-husband, Stefan. He was never convicted due to his high-powered connections, and so Shadow lives a life of fear, distrust, and isolation. She is constantly watched by a neighbor paid to report back to Stefan, and has only two friends and her sketching to keep her company.

“I ran away from him once, but he just found another way to torment me. That fear of him still haunts me, controls me.”

Early in the story Shadow meets a man she’s been scoping out on the beach; though she admired him, she kept her distance, but fate has its way. We learn his nickname is Jenks, and though it takes a while for Shadow to let him in, once she gets involved she goes in fast. As you can imagine, her haunt of an ex-husband is not pleased with this development.

“A year ago, two years… the thought of letting a man touch me would have horrified me. But now I wanted it. I missed it.”

There were some things that bothered me when it was all said and done. I found it bizarre that Shadow trusts in Jenks so easily after we discover how hard it is for others to gain her trust. There were a few unanswered questions I had, but I’ll include those at the end of the review as they may be spoilers. The book had no epilogue but it really would’ve benefited from one as the ending leaves the status of things unclear (more at the end of the review).

The oft-used single-line paragraph delivery works in spots but wears thin in others. It’s fine, and it does help with the pacing of the book, but there were times it felt overused. One of these days I’ll remember to do a cuss-word count in books; it wasn’t excessive, but there is occasional strong language (as well as some description of her past abuse) if you’re adverse to that.

Overall I enjoyed most of the story (and that cover art is amazing). I spent it wondering who really could or couldn’t be trusted, who was working with Stefan, how everyone would fare in the end. It’s obvious from the start that sh*t is going to hit the fan, but how and when that point comes, and the repercussions thereof, is a huge part of the journey. This is a story that will keep you entertained and in suspense.

“Safe? Safe is an illusion. There is no such thing as safe.”

Pieces of Me releases on July 25, 2017. It will be available for free to Kindle Unlimited subscribers, or can be purchased as an ebook or paperback.

I received an ARC via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

WARNING: POTENTIAL SPOILERS BELOW!!!

WARNING: POTENTIAL SPOILERS BELOW!!!

There is no HEA in this book. I had trouble deciding if the ending even qualified as a HFN (happily-for-now). An epilogue jumping years forward would have made it so much better. I’m fine with the excitement and mystery of a thriller, but I still want a conclusion to feel like a conclusion.

My unanswered questions:

  1. Who had compromised Shadow’s security systems and website?
  2. What exactly happened to/in her kitchen?
  3. Or did I miss something and was the above only related to the slashed/destroyed sketches?
  4. Was there ever anything aside from lust and desire involved between Shadow and Jenks? I still wasn’t sure at the end.
  5. For someone as untrusting as Shadow was (and for good reason), why was she fine with knowing that Jenks was withholding a lot of details of his own life from her? I realize this plays into the Big Relationship Hurdle, but it felt *too* contrary to the personality and background established for our heroine.
  6. That letter near the end… seriously? Not really a question, more of something that made me eyeroll and think: wouldn’t it have had more impact had she received it a year or more later?

If anyone could answer any of the above, I’d be happy to hear your input.

WARNING: POTENTIAL SPOILERS ABOVE!!!

WARNING: POTENTIAL SPOILERS ABOVE!!!

